Alice in Plymouth

Despite the fact that Drake Circus (Plymouth’s main shopping mall) contains a public right of way, security were very unhappy with my being there. What became interesting was that the movement I was performing was so subtle it raised interesting questions about what could potentially be ‘normal’ behaviour or abnormal/unlawful activity.

After some cyclical conversation with the head of security, I left the building and began to play outside in the high street. A few minutes later I was approached by two police officers who had been notified by security at Drake Circus. They took down my name and address, quizzed me on my intentions and cross-referenced my details on the Police National Computer.

Finally, with the permission of the police, I moved to another part of the city, for a last attempt at play, in a very rainy Plymouth.

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

